Pour

The big day, again. The scene at H’s foundry studio

Bronze melting in the furnace, tools waiting on the line, mold preheating in the kiln. No action pictures, sorry, too busy. (video of another pour here)

The ceramic shell molds just filled:

c_pour

As the metal cools, it shrinks, and begins to fracture the mold apart.

d_pour

After lunch, we return, anxious to roughly smash up the shell and see what we have.

Front

e_pour

Back

f_pour

What I’m looking for is; the casting is complete, no voids or freeze-out of metal in any part, a generally smooth consistency of metal and good surface details faithful to the original. There is the customary small amount of pitting or scaring caused impurities in the bronze, which gives character to the material, and nothing much in terms of flaws from/in the shell molds which would require much repair or patching, there is a nice fire scale  and color to the casting.

g_pour

h_pour

I have a tremendous feeling of satisfaction well-earned. I grateful to be working on a team with guys who can produce such things as this. I feel it is a rare thing to be working at this level of excellence in anything, and I’m glad it is happening to me.

Next day, back at my shop, I take apart the second piece more thoroughly.

i_pour

j_pour

k_pour

The shell mostly flakes away easily, and the deeper crevices are cleaned out using a chisel and hammer.

 l_pour

m_pour

n_pour

o_pour

I have two fine castings.

p_pour

Next, I cut off the sprue system.

s_pour

Now I can see the completed piece, the complete general idea. It is excellent, what I hoped for.

t_pour

Inevitably there is still much to do to detail or “chase” the casting; more cleaning, maybe sandblasting in places and patching\repairing some areas, and choosing whether or not to patina the piece and how. I’m leaning towards keeping the natural fire-scale finish, rather raw now, but it improves after a year or so naturally. Otherwise I’d considered that classic black with green haze patina we all know from museum pieces. Think about it. Another weekend and this will be ready for my show in October.

October 4 – November 1, 2013

Main Gallery: Joyce Brienza & Matt De Genaro
Opening Reception: Friday, October 4 – 7pm – 9pm

Paint Creek Center for the Arts
407 Pine Street
Rochester, MI 48307

Gallery Hours: Monday – Thursday 9am – 9pm, Friday 9am – 5pm, Saturday 10am – 4pm

v_pour

One thought on “Pour

  1. Robert Daulton

    Yeah, pretty nice! How tall are they? I love a statuette just the right size to be laying on the floor next to a body in a Raymond Chandler novel. these look entirely serviceable in the regard.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

